• Українською
  • Government closes another 10 motor border checkpoints
    Communications Department of the Secretariat of the CMU, posted 15 April 2020 14:23

    The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine has supported the closure of another 10 crossing points for motor vehicles on border in order to increase the safety level to abide by quarantine restrictions. The corresponding decision was adopted today, April 15, during a regular session of the Government.

    "We know that the flow of passengers across the border has already decreased, so closing 10 more checkpoints is another step towards improving security measures during quarantine," said Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal.

    Interior Minister Arsen Avakov said the checkpoints would be closed on border with Moldova, Poland and Romania.

    "Pursuant to the ordinance of the Cabinet of Ministers of March 13, 2020, another 10 border crossing points will be temporarily closed. This is due to the high prevalence of COVID-19 acute respiratory disease in neighboring countries," stressed Arsen Avakov.

    "It is proposed to close the following checkpoints "Kostely", "Smilnytsia", "Hrushiv", "Ugryniv", "Solotvyno", "Kalmintsi", "Bronnytsia", "Sokyryany", "Novi Trojany" and "Palanka". These are checkpoints for automobile and sometimes pedestrian traffic," the Minister added.

    It is worth noting that the decision to close pedestrian and automobile crossing has been agreed with international partners. That is, the countries bordering our country have closed their checkpoints in similar directions. Currently, there are 125 temporary closed checkpoints on the state border of Ukraine, 105 operating ones, including 18 for motor vehicle traffic.

    Government closes another 10 motor border checkpoints