• Українською
  • Dmytro Kuleba: Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova are the EU's most ambitious eastern partners
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine, posted 14 January 2021 15:55

    Minister for Foreign Affairs of Ukraine Dmytro Kuleba took part in a video meeting in the format of the "Trio of EU Associated Partners" with the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Georgia David Zalkaliani and Moldova Aureliu Ciocoi.

    The Ministers coordinated the joint approaches of Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova in preparation for this year's 6th EU Eastern Partnership Summit.

    The participants commended the unity of the three EU Associated States in the vision of the strategic future of the Eastern Partnership and the existence of many areas of common interest in the context of Ukraine's, Georgia's and Moldova's integration into the EU.

    "It is important that our three States speak to the European Union in one voice, which is much stronger than the voice of each one alone. "The Eastern Partnership" should be a tool that contributes to the realization of the European aspirations of our states, the Associated Trio of the EU's most ambitious eastern partners," Dmytro Kuleba stressed.  

    The foreign ministers reaffirmed their commitment to work together to develop an in-depth dialogue initiative in the EU + Associated Partners format, based on the principle of differentiation, in particular in the areas of deep and comprehensive free trade areas and sectoral rapprochement with the EU.

    The Foreign Ministers agreed that integration into the EU Internal Market and the prospect of spreading the "four European freedoms" to interested and prepared partner states should become ambitious strategic goals within the framework of the Eastern Partnership.

    Dmytro Kuleba, David Zalkaliani and Aureliu Ciocoi stressed the importance of developing a security dimension of cooperation within the Eastern Partnership, given the existing threats and challenges to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Eastern Partners.


    The Eastern Partnership is an EU initiative that continues the eastern direction of the European Neighborhood Policy, which was launched in 2009. It includes Ukraine, Georgia, Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Belarus.

    The decision to hold the Sixth Summit of the EU's Eastern Partnership initiative in 2021 was made following a video conference of Eastern Partnership leaders in June 2020. During the summit it is expected a new package of expected achievements in the framework of the Eastern Partnership in the coming years will be agreed.