• Українською
  • A delegation of Ukrainian and Lithuanian MPs holds a series of meetings in Washington, DC as part of the first joint initiative to strengthen international support for Ukraine
    posted 28 April 2017 10:04

    During the meeting with National Security Council Senior Director for Europe and Russia Fiona Hill, Chairperson of Rada’s Foreign Affairs Committee Ms. Hanna Hopko expressed condolences to the American people for the death of a U.S. citizen, who served as paramedic with OSCE Special Monitoring Mission in Donbas. She stressed the need to intensify pressure on Russia in order to finally make progress in securing sustainable ceasefire, release of hostages and other necessary security preconditions for the peace process. The Committee Chairperson urged not to reduce assistance to Ukraine because its safety and success is among strategic interests of the United States. Hanna Hopko also raised the issue of de-occupation of Crimea, passed the document on human rights violations in temporary occupied Ukrainian peninsula and stressed the importance of the recent International Court of Justice’ decision that Russia should restore the Mejlis of Crimean Tatars and deliver on other provisional measures. She separately focused on the need of providing humanitarian assistance to 3.5 million victims of Russian aggression against Ukraine and intensifying support for the energy security of Ukraine.

    Lithuanian MP, Deputy Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs, former Prime Minister of Lithuania, Advisor to the President of Ukraine, Andrius Kubilius presented the new European plan for Ukraine, adopted by the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the Seimas of Lithuania, based on 2017-2020 Strategy for Support of Ukraine and urged the U.S. to continue supporting Ukraine.

    Member of Ukrainian Parliament Ms. Nataliya Katser-Buchkovska, Vice Speaker of Lithuanian Parliament, Chairman of the European Affairs Committee Mr. Gediminas Kirkilas, Deputy Chairman of the European Affairs Committee Mr. Mindaugas Puidokas, Chairman of the Subcommittee on Transatlantic relations of the Committee of Foreign Affairs Mr. Zygimantas Pavilionis, H.E. Ambassador of Ukraine to the U.S. Valeriy Chaly and H.E. Ambassador of Lithuania to the U.S. Rolandas Krischiunas also attended the meeting.